blackwomenmakingmovies

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Adventures in Novel Writing

Posted by bwmm on August 19, 2010

Okay so I am going to attempt to write a novel or novel series of an idea I have had for a long time. Please join me at Imagine Wonders Don’t worry this blog is still going.

2 Responses to “Adventures in Novel Writing”

  1. Advice? The only thing I found that worked for me was a three ring loose leaf binder. Around the same time everyday, I would write a page, or more, on one side only. Especially when I didn’t feel like it.

    First draft I write without naming chapters. That’s a personal preference. I did use subject tabs to break the story up physically. I keep an plot / character outline at the front of the binder, and a summary (with crib notes) at the each subject tab.

    Sounds complicated, but it’s not. I’m one of those people that hates going to back to read a story I wrote, and finding out I forgot to be consistent about a character’s height, eye and hair color, etc.

  2. bwmm said

    Any advice is appeciated. I just recieved the book From First Draft to Finished Novel by Karen S. Wiesner. A co-worker gave me a copy of A Book in a Month as gift. I can’t remember how I got The Weekend Novelist. I also have The Marshall Plan for Novel Writing and a book called Creating the story. I’m reading as much as I can from advice from those online, books, offline etc. So any help is very much appeciated. I now I have to do a schedule to see how much time I have in order to write.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

 
